TO REGISTER FOR OUR COURSES, YOU MUST AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING POLICIES
Alpha College of Real Estate has been in business in Virginia for 34 years and is approved by the Virginia Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation for the purpose of offering the Virginia Pre-licensing Real Estate Principles and Continuing and Post-licensing Education.
HOURS OF OPERATION
Alpha College of Real Estate is open Monday through Friday from 9 am to 5 pm Eastern Standard Time.
Alpha College of Real Estate is closed:
- New Years Day
- Presidents Day
- Memorial Day
- Independence Day
- Labor Day
- Veterans Day
- Thanksgiving Day
- Day After Thanksgiving
- Christmas Eve
- Christmas Day
- Day After Christmas
NOTICE TO STUDENT
All questions pertaining to registration, refunds, school policy, course content, explanation of state licensing law, final exams (if applicable), and completion certificates should be addressed to the Alpha College of Real Estate 757-427-1740. According to Virginia Real Estate Board regulations, students must be licensed to receive post-licensing or continuing education credit. All education must be pre-approved by the Real Estate Board in order for you to receive pre-, post- or continuing education credit. When choosing a course, make sure it carries the credit you require.
REGISTRATION CANCELLATION POLICY
Alpha College of Real Estate's policy is that we only cancel registrations if technical support determines that the student is experiencing irresolvable technical difficulties. This course is non-refundable unless technical support determines there is an irresolvable technical issue. This course is non-transferrable.
Virginia real estate regulations require that if a course has a timing mechanism, it must be used to verify your activity in the course. Courses with timing mechanisms require that you are active in the course for an amount of time equal to the hours of credit you are receiving. If a course has been approved for eight (8) hours of credit, then that course will require you to be active in that course for eight (8) hour (a classroom hour is 50 minutes). This is called "seat time."
Example: 50 minutes = 1-hour seat-time
NOTICE: Some learning management systems trigger a completion notice when, in fact, you may not have met the requirements for your state.
Virginia requires you to meet seat time equal to the credit hours you will receive and pass a topic unit exam with a minimum of 75% or higher. Packaged courses which contain more than one credited course topic require a student to obtain seat time equal to the credit for that topic.
Example: a course which has three hours of Fair Housing and three hours of Agency credit requires a minimum seat time of three hours in each topic. In addition to the seat time requirement, Virginia requires the student to pass a topic/unit exam with a score of 75% or higher.
Upon completion of a course, each student will receive a Course Completions Certificate. In the event the certificate is lost, a duplicate may be obtained from the Alpha College of Real Estate office by written request. An administrative fee may be charged for the duplicate.
Alpha College of Real Estate will not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, handicap, or familial status in the establishment of fees, entrance qualifications or standards for successful completion of any course.
After you have completed all the lessons on the computer, you must allow the following times for processing to complete the course and receive your Course Completion Certificate: These times are all estimates:
- Scheduling the monitored final exam – one week
- Mailing of exam from monitor to Alpha College of Real Estate - 7 days business days (estimated)
- Grading of Exam and issuing Course Completion Certificate - 3 business days
- Receipt of the Course Completion Certificate by U.S. Mail – 10 business days (estimated)
In addition, some courses may include video or other elements which require the Adobe Flash Player to view.
VIDEO PLAYBACK QUALITY
Certain sections of this course may include video content. The quality of video playback is dependent on the speed of your Internet connection and, therefore, users with slower Internet connection speeds (lower than 768kbps download) may experience “choppy” or reduced video playback quality. If you experience poor video playback quality, please press the video pause button and allow the video to download for a period of approximately 30 seconds, and then resume the video playback. If further choppy video is encountered, press the pause button again and allow the video to download for a longer period. Please note that video download progress is denoted in the video timeline bar beneath the video playback window.
"Issuing" a Course Completion Certificate, means that we will place the Certificate in the U.S. Mail.
The minimum time you should allow between taking the exam and receiving your course completion certificate is approximately 20 business days (depending on mailing time), so PLAN YOUR SCHEDULE ACCORDINGLY!
Updated 29 May 2009
Current Virginia Real Estate Board Educational Requirements
HOW TO GET YOUR SALESPERSON LICENSE
To obtain your real estate salesperson license, you must fulfill the requirements below.
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Must have a High School Diploma or equivalent.
- If licensed in another state, be in good standing in any state where licensed.
- Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact real estate business in such a manner as to safeguard the public interest.
- Not have been found guilty of violating the Fair Housing laws of any jurisdiction.
- Meet the current educational requirements of the Virginia Real Estate Board by achieving a passing grade in all required courses before sitting for the licensing exam.
- Pass a written license examination approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board.
- Not have had a real estate license revoked or suspended in any state.
- Not have been convicted anywhere for a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury or any felony.
- Effective July 1, 2009, fingerprinting will be mandatory. Before submitting an application for a Virginia real estate license, each applicant must submit a set of fingerprints to the Virginia Central Criminal Records Exchange for the purpose of conducting a state and national fingerprint-based Criminal history record. You will be electronically fingerprinted at one of PSI Virginia sites, during regular testing hours.
The Virginia Real Estate Board currently requires anyone wishing to obtain a real estate license to complete, with a passing grade, a State-approved 60-hour course called "The Principles of Real Estate." This course is to cover the principles and practices of real estate as well as Virginia real estate law.
COMPLETING THE COURSE
Students must complete each chapter reading assignment, activity and chapter quiz. The student must be actively engaged in the course for a minimum of 60 hours of “seat time.” Students must pass with a minimum grade of 75% a monitored final exam. Final exams may not be taken online and students must contact Alpha College of Real Estate to schedule the exam.
All course work must be complete before taking the final exam. All final exams are monitored and given at Alpha College of Real Estate unless arrangements are made for testing at a different location. In order to be eligible to test off-site, the student must reside more than 50 miles from Alpha's Chesapeake campus. Tests given at Alpha are scheduled at either 10 a.m. or 2 p.m., Wednesdays or Fridays only. Call Alpha College of Real Estate to schedule your final exam at least one day before the desired test date. On the day of testing, bring the notarized Student Affidavit, the Product and Customer Service Evaluation Form, and a valid form of picture identification. Students should keep a copy of the notarized affidavit in their file as required by the Virginia Real Estate Board. Calculators may be used if they are silent, battery-operated, and do not have printout capability or alphabetic keyboard. Students may not bring any communication devices into the exam area. Students have a maximum of 2.5 hours to complete the exam.
All exams must be taken within six (6) months from the date of enrollment. If you fail the first exam, you may schedule a second exam no sooner than the next exam day as long as the second exam is scheduled within the six-month period from the date of enrollment. A third attempt at the exam may be purchased for $50 as long as it is taken with in the six-month period from the date of enrollment.
The course exam requires a score of 75% or better in order to receive credit for the course. Should you fail the third time, you must re-register and repeat the entire course from the beginning before taking the end of course examination again. Please contact Alpha College of Real Estate for details.
After passing the final examination for the pre-licensing course, Alpha College of Real Estate will issue an Education Certificate that certifies the student has successfully completed the Principles course. The student is now eligible to take the licensing exam for the state of Virginia. If the student wishes to take the Virginia state licensing exam, the student must complete a PSI registration form. This form can be obtained from Alpha College of Real Estate and will be submitted by Alpha to the testing company.
Off-Site Pre-Licensing Final Exam
The monitor cannot fax or e-mail exams, answer sheets or scores to Alpha College of Real Estate, and we cannot fax or e-mail course completion certificates to the student. On the day of testing, bring the notarized Student Affidavit, the Product and Customer Service Evaluation Form, and a valid form of picture identification. Students should keep a copy of the notarized affidavit in their file as required by the Virginia Real Estate Board. In the event the certificate is lost, a duplicate may be obtained from the Alpha College of Real Estate offices by written request. An administrative fee of $5 will be charged for the duplicate and must be included in the written request.
Upon passing your exam, we will have you complete a PSI application and we will submit electronically that information to PSI. Within approximately 48 business hours, you will be able to go to the PSI website www.psiexams.com and schedule a time to take the state licensing exam.
COURSE PURCHASE PERIOD
Courses must be completed including review period within six (6) months from the date of enrollment. Course completion includes passing a monitored course final exam within the same six-month period.
COURSE EXPIRATION & REVIEW
Pre-licensing course lessons on the computer must be completed within six (6) months from the date of enrollment (unless individual state law specifies otherwise). Access to the computer lessons will expire at midnight on the 180th day after enrollment.
COURSE EXTENSION POLICY
If you cannot complete your course within six (6) months, then you may purchase a 60-day extension from Alpha College of Real Estate. The 60-day extension period begins from the date your course originally expires. You may purchase up to three extensions per course. It is your responsibility to contact the Alpha College of Real Estate to find out about purchasing an extension. It is recommended that you purchase the extension immediately after the course has expired in order to be able to have the full 60 days of the extension..
Updated 29 May 2009
How to Check "Seat Time"
Seat time can be viewed on each page of your course.
In order to take this distance education course, your computer must meet the following minimum system requirements.
- 56K dial-up Internet (DSL/cable/high speed recommended)
- 800x600 screen resolution (1024x768 screen resolution recommended)
- Modern web browser software (for best results, we encourage you to download and install the latest updates for your browser software).
+ Internet Explorer 6.x or 7.x
+ Mozilla Firefox 2.0
+ Apple Safari 1.2 or greater
Contact Technical Support by phone at 757-427-1740 Monday - Friday, 9:00 am - 4:30 pm, Eastern Time, or by e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org. We will respond to your e-mail message within one (1) business day.
Updated 22 January 2019
CONTINUE TO REGISTER FOR THE COURSE...
By clicking the button below, you have read and agree to the requirements above. You must agree to these requirements to continue your online registration. If you have questions, contact Alpha.