TO REGISTER FOR OUR ONLINE COURSES, YOU MUST AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING POLICIES:
Alpha College of Real Estate has been in business in Virginia for 35 years and is approved by the Virginia Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation for the purpose of offering the Virginia Pre-licensing Principles of Real Estate and Continuing and Post-licensing Education.
HOURS OF OPERATION
Alpha College of Real Estate is open Monday through Friday from 9 am to 5 pm Eastern Standard Time.
Alpha College of Real Estate is closed:
- New Year’s Day
- Presidents Day
- Memorial Day
- Independence Day
- Labor Day
- Veterans Day
- Thanksgiving Day
- Day After Thanksgiving
- Christmas Eve
- Christmas Day
NOTICE TO STUDENT
All questions pertaining to registration, refunds, school policy, special accommodations, course content, explanation of state licensing law, final exams (if applicable), and completion certificates should be addressed to the Alpha College of Real Estate 757-427-1740.
All special accommodation questions and requests should be directed to the school Director prior to registering for the course.
According to Virginia Real Estate Board regulations, students must be licensed to receive post-licensing or continuing education credit. All education must be pre-approved by the Real Estate Board in order for you to receive pre, post or continuing education credit. When choosing a course, make sure it carries the credit you require.
ONLINE COURSE REGISTRATION CANCELLATION POLICY
Alpha College of Real Estate's online real estate courses are Non-refundable, transfers are at the discretion of the school Director.
Virginia real estate regulations require that if a course has a timing mechanism, it must be used to verify your activity in the course. Courses with timing mechanisms require that you are active in the course for an amount of time equal to the hours of credit you are receiving. If a course has been approved for eight (8) hours of credit, then that course will require you to be active in that course for eight (8) hour (a classroom hour is 50 minutes). This is called "seat time."
Example: 50 minutes = 1-hour seat-time
NOTICE: Some learning management systems triggers a completion notice when, in fact, you may not have met the requirements for your state.
Virginia requires you to meet seat time equal to the credit hours you will receive and pass a topic unit exam with a minimum of 75% or higher. Packaged courses which contain more than one credited course topic require a student to obtain seat time equal to the credit for that topic.
Example: a course which has three hours of Fair Housing and three hours of Agency credit requires a minimum seat time of three hours in each topic. In addition to the seat time requirement, Virginia requires the student to pass a topic/unit exam with a score of 75% or higher.
Upon completion of a course, each student will receive a Course Completions Certificate. In the event the certificate is lost, a duplicate may be obtained from the Alpha College of Real Estate office by written request. An administrative fee may be charged for the duplicate.
Alpha College of Real Estate will not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, handicap, or familial status in the establishment of fees, entrance qualifications or standards for successful completion of any course.
Once you have completed all the lessons on the computer, you must allow the following times for processing to complete the course and receive your Course Completion Certificate: These times are all estimates:
- Scheduling the monitored final exam (if required) – one week
- Mailing of exam from monitor to Alpha College of Real Estate - 7 days business days (estimated)
- Grading of Exam and issuing Course Completion Certificate - 2 business days
- Receipt of the Course Completion Certificate by U.S. Mail – 10 business days (estimated)
VIDEO PLAYBACK QUALITY
Certain sections of this course may include video content. The quality of video playback is dependent on the speed of your internet connection and, therefore, users with slower internet connection speeds (lower than 768kbps download) may experience “choppy” or reduced video playback quality. If you experience poor video playback quality, please press the video pause button and allow the video to download for a period of approximately 30 seconds, and then resume the video playback. If further choppy video is encountered, press the pause button again and allow the video to download for a longer period. Please note that video download progress is denoted in the video timeline bar beneath the video playback window.
In addition, some courses may include video or other elements which require the Adobe Flash Player to view.
Current Virginia Real Estate Board Educational Requirements
HOW TO GET YOUR SALESPERSON LICENSE
To obtain your real estate salesperson license, you must fulfill the requirements below.
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Must have a High School Diploma or equivalent.
- If licensed in another state, be in good standing in any state where licensed.
- Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact real estate business in such a manner as to safeguard the public interest.
- Not have been found guilty of violating the Fair Housing laws of any jurisdiction.
- Meet the current educational requirements of the Virginia Real Estate Board by achieving a passing grade in all required courses before sitting for the licensing exam.
- Pass a written license examination approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board.
- Not have had a real estate license revoked or suspended in any state.
- Disclosure of All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury within 5 years of the date of application and All felony convictions during lifetime. (A plea of nolo contendere is considered a conviction)
- Effective July 1, 2009, fingerprinting will be mandatory. Before submitting an application for a Virginia real estate license, each applicant must submit a set of fingerprints to the Virginia Central Criminal Records Exchange for the purpose of conducting a state and national fingerprint-based Criminal history record. You will be electronically fingerprinted at one of PSI Virginia sites, during regular testing hours.
The Virginia Real Estate Board currently requires anyone wishing to obtain a real estate license to complete, with a passing grade, a State-approved 60-hour course called "The Principles of Real Estate." This course is to cover the principles and practices of real estate as well as Virginia real estate law.
COMPLETING THE COURSE
Students must complete all course materials. The student must be actively engaged in the course for a minimum of 60 hours of “seat time.” Students must pass the course final exam with a minimum grade of a 70% on the National portion and a 75% on the State Law portion. Final exams may not be taken online and students must contact Alpha College of Real Estate to schedule the proctored exam.
Principles of Real Estate Course Final Exam
Course work must be complete before taking the course final exam. All final exams are monitored and given at Alpha College of Real Estate unless arrangements are made for testing at a different location. In order to be eligible to test off-site, the student must reside more than 50 miles from Alpha's Chesapeake campus or have permission from the school Director. Call Alpha College of Real Estate to schedule your final exam. On the day of testing, bring a valid form of picture identification, two #2 pencils, a calculator- calculators must be silent, battery-operated, and do not have printout capability or alphabetic keyboard. Students may not bring any communication or picture taking devices, cell phones, smart watches, books, bags, purses, paper or food into the exam area. Students may bring bottled water and car keys. Students have a maximum of 2.5 hours to complete the exam.
All exams must be taken within 90 days from the date of enrollment. If you fail the first free exam, you may schedule a second free exam no sooner than the next exam day as long as the second exam is scheduled within the 90 day period from the date of enrollment. You may continue to purchase exam opportunities up to five years from the purchase date of the original course. After that period the Virginia Real Estate Board does not require us to maintain records therefore you would need to re-purchase and complete all of the requirements of the course again.
The additional purchased exam opportunities must be scheduled and paid for a minimum of 24 business hours in advance of the date of the exam.
The course final exam requires a score of 70% on the National portion and a 75% on State Law portion or better in order to receive credit for the course. After passing the final examination for the pre-licensing course, Alpha College of Real Estate will issue a Completion Certificate that certifies the student has successfully completed the Principles of Real Estate course.
Off-Site Pre-Licensing Course Final Exam
The monitor cannot fax or e-mail exams, answer sheets or scores to Alpha College of Real Estate, and we cannot fax or e-mail course completion certificates to the student. On the day of testing, bring the notarized Student Affidavit, the Evaluation Form, and a valid form of picture identification. Students should keep a copy of the notarized affidavit in their file as required by the Virginia Real Estate Board. In the event the certificate is lost, a duplicate may be obtained from the Alpha College of Real Estate offices by written request. An administrative fee of $5.00 will be charged for the duplicate and must be included in the written request.
TAKING THE STATE LICENSING EXAM
If the student wishes to take the Virginia real estate licensing exam, the student must complete the Principles of Real Estate course and complete and return to Alpha the PSI Virginia Real Estate Examination Registration Form, along with a digital passport style photo. This form may be obtained through Alpha or at www.psiexams.com. Alpha will submit the information from this form electronically to PSI Inc. stating you are eligible to take the Virginia real estate licensing exam... Approximately 48 business hours from submission, you will be able to go to the PSI website www.psiexams.com and schedule a time to take the state licensing exam.
COURSE PURCHASE PERIOD
Course completion includes passing a monitored course final exam within the 90 day purchase period.
COURSE EXPIRATION & REVIEW
Pre-licensing course lessons on the computer must be completed within 90 days from the date of enrollment Access to the computer lessons will expire at midnight on the 90th day after enrollment. If you need to access the course materials after expiration of a course you may repurchase the course at the current return student discount of $199. (Rates are subject to change without notice)
LECTLEARN LMS System
How to Check "Seat Time"
Seat time can be viewed on each page of your course.
To properly access our services, we recommend that you have a broadband connection to the internet with a minimum speed of at least 2Mb/s. Our courses may include streaming videos, which require higher bandwidth. We try to make our content accessible to older systems, but we cannot guarantee the quality of your internet connection, the reliability of your internet provider, or the suitability of the device you use to access our courses.”
Contact Technical Support by phone at 757-427-1740 Monday - Friday, 9:00 am - 4:30 pm, Eastern Time, or by e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org. We will respond to your e-mail message within one (2) business days.