Policies and Procedures for Self-Study Principles of Real Estate Course
Step 1: Begin Course
Students should begin the course by reading Chapter 1. Then re-read the chapter, this time taking notes and highlighting.
Chapter flash cards should be made and used for studying.
Once students have sufficiently studied they should take the chapter test. When checking answers, students should go back into their notes and the textbook, highlighting information related to questions they have missed.
Repeat process for all chapters
Step 2: Prepare for Course Final Exam
All course work must be complete before taking the course final exam.
Students should contact Alpha staff to schedule their course final, (757) 427-1740
In the meantime, students should use flash cards and notes to study and prepare for the course exam
Step 3: Earn Certificate of Completion
Students must sign an affidavit when they take their course final exam stating that they have completed the course requirements
Students must pass the course final exam with a minimum score of 70% on the National and 75% on the Virginia Law
When the above requirements have been met the student will receive a certificate of completion. The student must submit a completed PSI Virginia Real Estate Examination Registration Form (https://candidate.psiexams.com/) and a digital passport photo to Alpha College of Real Estate in order for Alpha to submit the student’s eligibility to PSI so that the student can take the state licensing examination
Step 4: Earn a license
In order to obtain your real estate license, students must fulfill non-educational requirements, in addition to completing this course. Applicant shall be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or its equivalent, shall submit to fingerprinting and shall disclose all felony convictions, all misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury within five years of the date of the application and within 12 months prior to submitting a complete application for a license shall have passed a written examination provided by the board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board.
This course is non-transferable and non-refundable
Students will have 180 days to complete the course. If you cannot complete your course, you may purchase a 60-day extension. The 60-day extension period begins from the date your course originally expires.
All final exams are monitored and given at Alpha unless arrangements are made for testing at a different location. In order to be eligible to test off-site, the student must reside more than 50 miles an Alpha campus.
Tests given at Alpha are scheduled by appointment. Call Alpha College of Real Estate to schedule your final exam at least one week before the desired test date
If you fail the first exam, you may schedule a second free exam no sooner than the next available exam day as long as the second exam is scheduled within the six-month period from the date of enrollment. Third and fourth attempts at the exam may be purchased for $50 as long as it is taken with in the six-month period from the date of enrollment.
Should you fail the fourth time, you must re-register and repeat the entire course from the beginning before taking the end-of-course examination again.
Alpha College of Real Estate’s Chesapeake Campus is open Monday through Friday from 9 am to 5 pm Eastern Standard Time (but will be closed for most national holidays).
Upon completion of a course, each student will receive a Course Completions Certificate. A duplicate may be obtained (within 5 years from completion) from Alpha. An administrative fee will be charged for the duplicate. Course records are not available after 5 years from the date of course registration.